Scholarly Advisory Committee Members

Scholarly Advisory Committee

Home / History Center Project / Behind the Design / Scholarly Advisory Committee Members

Scholarly Advisors

The Scholarly Advisory Committee’s work on the Wisconsin History Center Project provides expert council and guidance to develop evidence based history public exhibitions and experiences for future audiences. The committee is comprised of scholars from across the country with a range of backgrounds and expertise.

Dr. Melanie Adams

Interim Director, Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum

Dr. Katherine “Katie” Benton-Cohen

Professor, Director of Doctoral Studies, Department of History, Georgetown University

Dr. John Hall

Ambrose-Hesseltine Associate Professor of U.S. Military History, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr. Eric Hoyt

Kahl Family Professor of Media Production, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr. Cheryl Jimenez Frei

Assistant Professor of History, co-director of the Public History Program, and affiliated faculty in the Latin America and Latinx Studies Program at UW Eau Claire

Dr. Doug Kiel

Assistant Professor, Department of History, Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities, Northwestern University

Dr. Jon Lauck

Founding President of the Midwestern History Association, the associate editor and book review editor of the Middle West Review, and an adjunct professor of History and Political Science at the University of South Dakota

Dr. Jim Leary

Emeritus Professor of Folklore and Scandinavian Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr. Cindy Ott

Associate Professor, Department of History, University of Delaware

Dr. Katrina “Katie” Phillips

Associate Professor of History, Macalester College

Dr. Robert Smith

Director of the Center for Urban Research, Teaching & Outreach and Harry G. John Associate Professor of History at Marquette University

Dr. Aharon Zorea

Director of Richland Heritage Project, Professor of History, University of Wisconsin-Platteville Richland